11-04-2010, 12:58 PM

Verified Member

Stats: 310 posts since Feb 2010
Hello everyone:
Can DVD+Rs be converted to DVD-R?

I recently acquired a FANTASTIC disc but I can only view it on my PC. It won't play on my old dvd player, my xbox 360 or my xbox.

This is actually kinda neat since the response may take me a little further in my burning skills. I'm still a novice but I sure enjoy the learning and the results. And I might even get to see these videos on a full size tv screen.

Thanks for any replies in advance.
  11-04-2010, 02:32 PM

Member Removed / Locked / Why?

Stats: 389 posts since Aug 2005
Is it in standard vob format, or is it AVI?
  11-04-2010, 05:50 PM

Verified Member

Stats: 199 posts since Nov 2009
I've never tried going from DVD+R to DVD-R via my computer, but both of my standalone DVD duplicators will transfer a recording from one medium to the other with the touch of a button. I think it's a fairly standard option with duplicators.
  11-06-2010, 08:27 AM
Verified Member

Stats: 2,781 posts since Aug 2005
Send a message via Yahoo to SavageAmusement
Hi James....saw your post/reply about VOB and AVI...wanted to toss a little info your way
Hope this helps..
AVI is becoming increasingly more popular-
Chances are, most items/players can deal with AVI.
Pc's may need an update in a codec file, but usually they play with no issues.

VOB stands for DVD Video Object. It is basically one of the core files found on DVD-Video discs and contains the actual movie data. Basically VOB file is just a basic MPEG-2 system stream -- meaning that it is a file that contains multiplexed MPEG-2 video stream, audio streams (normally AC3 and DTS formats) and subtitle streams.
DVD VOB file and IFO file - the difference is as follows: