Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support

03-01-2010, 09:03 PM

Verified Member

Stats: 199 posts since Nov 2009
Hi, folks! I'm a long-time video trader, but new to authoring my own DVD sets (and new to this group). So please pardon me if this question is way too broad, but I'm out of my depth. I have digital recordings of a scarce Canadian serial from the 1960s that I want to author as a set (removing commercials, adding menus etc.). I have very little in the way of DVD authoring software / tools (and probably even less knowledge on how to use them properly), so here's my question. What are the basic tools I need to make the sort of set I'm describing? At the moment, I know how to take the files off of the original disks and save them on my harddrive, and I MIGHT be able to edit out commercials (though I wouldn't bet on it). I definitely have not figured out how to put the edited files on to a new disk, and I have no tools for creating a new menu. I don't care much about animated menus, but I want something that will allow me to have a nice illustration for the menu's background, and will support at least one sub-menu. I don't have a ton of money to spend, but also don't mind paying for some basic tools. I just need advice on the proper tools to buy for the task at hand. Also, besides editing commercials, is there any sort of clean-up I need to do on the original recordings, or are digital recordings pretty much okay as they stand? Again, sorry for the barrage of questions here, particularly as they're probably far more basic than you're accustomed to. Any advice will be extremely appreciated. Thanks.
  03-02-2010, 02:07 AM
Verified Member

Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
fandor, this is just a guide. it will help, but there are other tools out there to help you achieve what you want.