Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support


Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
  04-18-2012, 06:21 PM
 
Verified Member
 

Stats: 47 posts since Aug 2010
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
I tried it on my TV and it looks OK. Just wanted to run it past someone more knowledgeable on this stuff.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg gspot.jpg (70.8 KB, 70 views)

Last edited by tebjr; 04-18-2012 at 06:22 PM. Reason: Misspelled word
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  04-18-2012, 06:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,751 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 127 times in 113 posts
720x480 is standard NTSC broadcast master resolution. (Actual transmission resolution is much less, however.)

You should not have any resolution-based quality issues...

... but this assumes the file was not downsized before. For example, you can squish a video down to crappy quality, upload to Youtube (lots of recompression, maybe more downsizing), download it, and use some dummy-friendly software to convert it to DVD (which is often using a 720x480 template). While that is also 720x480 resolution, the image contained therein is far from 480i quality.

I'd want to see an actual clip.

VHS tapes, for example, are around or just below 352x480 resolution. That's one reason VHS is soft/fuzzy compared to DVDs made from higher-end non-VHS master sources. (Noting that there are hardware tricks to falsely sharpen a good SP mode VHS tape.)
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  04-18-2012, 07:14 PM
 
Verified Member
 

Stats: 47 posts since Aug 2010
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Here you go LS. It's a 50 sec sample.


Attached Files
File Type: rar Sample.rar (13.82 MB, 34 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  04-19-2012, 05:42 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,751 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 127 times in 113 posts
Something is very wrong with that video. It's almost unusable.

The image is inside a 720x480 canvas, but the actual image only occupies a 352x480 area inside it. It's 1:1 352 inside a 4:3 720. It's been captured/recorded wrong. 352x480 only works if you capture it 4:3.

It's also far below the suggested bitrate, which explains the blocks and general degraded digital quality.

Is this one of your captures?
If so, what hardware and software was used? And what settings?
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  04-19-2012, 07:56 AM
 
Verified Member
 

Stats: 47 posts since Aug 2010
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Here's what I've been doing:

(1) Recording from the DVR to a Magnavox DVD Recorder.
(2) Pulling the .vobs from the disc
(3) I load the .vobs into Avidemux 2.5 to delete scenes by frame, and save them to Xvid.
(4) I then load each Xvid file into Emicsoft Converter to convert to MPEG-2.

One thing I noticed that I've been doing is my TV has been set to a "natural" screen instead of a full one, so the black borders show up.

Here's what I done for this sample.

(1) Changed my TV to a full screen, then recorded
(2) Loaded the .vob into Avidemux
(3) Made my frame edits, saved as a straight copy, didn't change to Xvid
(4) Loaded into Emicsoft, saved as a MPEG-2


Attached Files
File Type: rar sample_0.rar (7.25 MB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
  04-19-2012, 11:41 AM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
you should use mpegvcr or mpeg video wizard for removing commercials or other edits.

also sounds like your recording at a bad setting make sure you record to at least SP mode to get 720x480 and not 352x480

use dvdrw discs if you dont want to waste discs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  04-19-2012, 01:21 PM
 
Verified Member
 

Stats: 47 posts since Aug 2010
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Thanks Konfusion. I wasn't recording in SP either.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  04-19-2012, 02:21 PM
 
Verified Member
 

Stats: 47 posts since Aug 2010
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
OK, here's another sample. Recorded in SP.


Attached Files
File Type: rar sample.rar (26.84 MB, 28 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  04-20-2012, 12:51 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,751 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 127 times in 113 posts
Quote:
Here's what I've been doing:
(1) Recording from the DVR to a Magnavox DVD Recorder.
(2) Pulling the .vobs from the disc
^ This was fine.

Quote:
(3) I load the .vobs into Avidemux 2.5 to delete scenes by frame, and save them to Xvid.
(4) I then load each Xvid file into Emicsoft Converter to convert to MPEG-2.
^ This wasn't. Use an MPEG editor like Womble MPEG-VCR or Womble MPEG Video Wizard.

Quote:
One thing I noticed that I've been doing is my TV has been set to a "natural" screen instead of a full one, so the black borders show up.
Even for a 16x9 recording, the ratio of picture:borders was wrong in the first example in the thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by konfusion View Post
make sure you record to at least SP mode to get 720x480 and not 352x480
352x480 is fine. Read this: Is SP MODE the Best DVD Recorder Mode? (NO!)

That assumes the encoder/chipset does well at 352x480 (most do, some do not).

__

@tebjr: You can attach .mpg files, too -- no need to zip/rar those.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  04-20-2012, 07:22 AM
 
Verified Member
 

Stats: 47 posts since Aug 2010
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Thanks for the critique LS. After Konfusion mentioned MPEG-VCR, I downloaded that and am really impressed with it.

I assume I'm doing this right now.

I'm pulling from the disc, loadiing the .vob into MPEG-VCR, make my edits, then save.

Did my last sample look OK?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is YOUR resolution? SavageAmusement The Coffee Clutch: TV Talk and News 3 01-01-2010 07:05 PM
What is your screen resolution? lordsmurf The Coffee Clutch: TV Talk and News 2 08-13-2007 11:10 AM
This looks good...WAR wheezer210 The Coffee Clutch: TV Talk and News 0 07-17-2007 06:36 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies