#1  
  03-10-2007, 02:28 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ok, what are some of the best DVD recorders out there right now. I will NOT buy refurbished. Don't really need the hard drive either. Just able to have the same features as what the DRM100S offered me. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  03-10-2007, 02:41 AM
markatisu's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Stats: 2,824 posts since May 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via AIM to markatisu Send a message via MSN to markatisu
The DL capable Lite-On model that Best Buy currently has is good, it does 1,2,3,4 hour recordings and it seems to clean up noise quite well on tuner/cable. Much like most new recorders it does all format + or -.

Marcus would probably recommend the RCA model that is available at most Walmarts for $98, the hard drive model is $100 more. Other people have had luck with it, I have not (returned 2 of them so far). It had issues with not only my cable but also my HDTV, to get it to display properly meant choosing Widescreen which you guessed it WS everything so viewing records on a regular TV has black bars....which I could live with if not for the other problems like adjustable record time (for wrestling I need like 2hrs 5min but it kept stopping the disc at exactly 2hrs even when programmed) ,disc compatibility and the tuner issues.

LS would know better which recorders have FR mode (The Toshiba's have a similar but much more limited setting) and the LSI chip or something comparable, that is pretty much the big benefits the JVC has.
__________________
Not trading anymore, if you are interested we can work something out. Look ma I am sorta famous (and again).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  03-10-2007, 06:19 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
With those demands, you're screwed. That's the honest answer.

The only other viable option are Toshiba decks, but you're looking at the flawed $400 units or the better refurb $200 units. And then Toshiba has copy protection issues, so don't plan on using it off certain cable channels with the tuner. The $400 units are at some Best Buy stores. You want the XS34, XS35 or KX50. Toshiba DR4/DR5 units are not as good as the HDD XS/KX units.

I would advise you to try again with the JVC DRM100. Don't let one bad experience make you bitter.



__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  03-10-2007, 11:19 AM
markatisu's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Stats: 2,824 posts since May 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via AIM to markatisu Send a message via MSN to markatisu
The DR4 is what my brother has, he had to get a firmware disc from Toshiba because of a production problem that makes some discs not finalize.

LS is correct about the copy protection as well, I had never known you could be locked out from recording regular cable till he got that unit.
__________________
Not trading anymore, if you are interested we can work something out. Look ma I am sorta famous (and again).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  03-12-2007, 03:50 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well, I decided to purchase another DRM100S and get it sent 2 day delivery. I still will be sending the other one back, so I will just end up with 2 of these machines, which is ok with me (if they work). Hopefully this new one will work and I get start using it.

Mark, those little bear eps you sent me, where they recorded on the JVC? They were great quality. I'm actually using some of the eps you sent instead of the ones that were on the official DVDs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
  03-12-2007, 11:10 AM
markatisu's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Stats: 2,824 posts since May 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via AIM to markatisu Send a message via MSN to markatisu
Yes they were recorded using the FR170-190 mode on the JVC from digital cable Nick Jr
__________________
Not trading anymore, if you are interested we can work something out. Look ma I am sorta famous (and again).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  03-13-2007, 01:21 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Just got a letter offering me Digital Cable free for one year. I may have to do it, the price is right.....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  03-13-2007, 01:25 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ok, so another possibly dumb question, again, I have never used an external box for my TV, (at least not since the 80's ). How do you record different channels? I mean, how do you set it to record say channel 69, then one hour later record channel 131? I'm looking at getting Digital Cable that requires the use of a external box.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  03-13-2007, 01:53 AM
markatisu's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Stats: 2,824 posts since May 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Send a message via AIM to markatisu Send a message via MSN to markatisu
When using an external box the DVD Recorder is set to channel 3 or AV IN depending on how you are connecting, the digital cable box controls the channels

So you would simply set Ch 3/AV IN on the dvd recorder to record for a certain time and schedule your DVR/TIVO to go to a specific channel at the same time

Make sense?
__________________
Not trading anymore, if you are interested we can work something out. Look ma I am sorta famous (and again).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  03-13-2007, 01:54 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
You set both the box and the recorder.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #11  
  03-13-2007, 02:07 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
got it, so the comcast digital cable box has the ability to schedule itself as well. Ok, that makes perfect sense. They didn't use to do that, what a nice feature.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
  03-13-2007, 10:05 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
I was doing that with my satellite receiver in 2001-2004.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #13  
  03-13-2007, 10:39 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
He he, I haven't used an external box since the 80's. They didn't do it back then

I recieved my second DRMS100 today and it works great. So it looks like I'll have 2 of them. I do like the DV to DVD dubbing feature as I have a TON of MINI-DV tapes to put over to DVD.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
  03-13-2007, 04:22 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I never said I liked the RCA $98.00 DVD recorder from Walmart, but I do like the RCA 8300N that I currently have. The only downside it has is that it only has a 15X forward, but will go back 60X back. It takes longer than I like to edit commercials of shows I would like to watch on my DVD player.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best DVD recorder? hordeprime Record TV: Video Tech Support 11 01-28-2008 01:19 PM
Toshiba (DRW2) DVD Recorder * Good or Bad Recorder Pepeart Record TV: Video Tech Support 4 09-20-2006 02:12 AM
Looking for dvd recorder... anybody? onlyemokid Buy TV: Shopping Deals and Tips 2 06-28-2006 01:07 PM
DVD recorder help again. MOTUfan Record TV: Video Tech Support 6 03-25-2006 01:46 PM
Which jvc dvd recorder to buy? manthing Buy TV: Shopping Deals and Tips 5 03-25-2006 02:16 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies