Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support


Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
  11-22-2012, 11:17 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
As the title states can someone point me or tell me how to take from my DVR to computer encode which of course will be to dvd. First time owning a dvr in a while.
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  12-27-2012, 01:37 PM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Canada
Stats: 35 posts since Jan 2012
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 2 times in 2 posts
Need to know:

Name of your cable co.
Manufacturer of the DVR
Model number of the DVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  02-03-2013, 09:52 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
Cable Company : Time Warner
Box : SA Explorer 8300 HDC
TV Tunner: Hauppage WinTV HVR-1600

Would love to copy the hd formats to computer to burn to dvd
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  02-04-2013, 12:46 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Canada
Stats: 35 posts since Jan 2012
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 2 times in 2 posts
Good news: you should be able to capture at least your local HD channels via Firewire.

Bad news: you will need to use a Mac OS X machine (preferable IMO) or a Windows x86 (32-bit) machine.

Just google with the model number of your DVR and "firewire" for the info on how to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  02-04-2013, 11:53 PM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
can u do that with directv hr24 to macoscx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
  02-05-2013, 04:41 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Canada
Stats: 35 posts since Jan 2012
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 2 times in 2 posts
No. DirecTV is totally locked up.

The only reason you can record stuff from cable to PC is that the US government mandated it. Satellite has different regulations.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  02-06-2013, 07:48 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
I just got a Hauppauge Colossus card will this help or do I still need to do it with a firewire? since this allows HDMI
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  02-08-2013, 12:25 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Canada
Stats: 35 posts since Jan 2012
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 2 times in 2 posts
The Colossus will produce inferior video quality to a Firewire capture, as Firewire is a copy of the original stream and an HDMI capture is a recompressed version of the stream.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  02-08-2013, 10:34 AM
jhokie's Avatar
Verified Member
 

Stats: 40 posts since Nov 2009
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
If you have Direct TV and want to capture to your computer disc get a PLEXTOR PX-AV200U conector. USB on one end, A/V on the other to connect to the Direct TV box.

It comes with the I/P software. You will need something like TMPGEnc Authoring Works 4 to edit the files captured and write the resulting output files to disc. Then you will need something like CloneDVD2 to write the files to your DVD drive.
__________________
jhokie@q.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  02-12-2013, 09:21 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
So got the firwire cable only to look around to find out this usually only works on a XP Machine and 32bit at that. So far no luck in appropriate software for this nor a good driver.
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #11  
  02-14-2013, 10:45 AM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
Ok after long time got this working to the way I need it thanks to all
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #12  
  02-16-2013, 09:55 PM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Canada
Stats: 35 posts since Jan 2012
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 2 times in 2 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanEntertainment View Post
So got the firwire cable only to look around to find out this usually only works on a XP Machine and 32bit at that. So far no luck in appropriate software for this nor a good driver.
"Look around"? Or look in this thread?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thepasswordisfail View Post
Bad news: you will need to use a Mac OS X machine (preferable IMO) or a Windows x86 (32-bit) machine.
Hope you were able to get the Firewire way working.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
  02-17-2013, 09:17 AM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
yea you did say it but alas my machine is 64bit , still wanted to see if the drivers were out there for 64bit alas nope.
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #14  
  02-19-2013, 08:20 PM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Canada
Stats: 35 posts since Jan 2012
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 2 times in 2 posts
My own solution was to buy an old iBook. Unfortunately I get odd glitches in the recordings from time to tome. I suppose the storage system of the laptop cannot keep up, but that would be odd since the bitrate of these files is only some few megabytes per second.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
  02-25-2013, 09:57 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
Yea now I need to figure out what is a good capture settings for these HD files to transfer to dvd ugh lol...
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mono recordings? wiseguy182 Record TV: Video Tech Support 3 06-02-2010 12:20 AM
Pokemon to move to CN from WB markatisu Superheroes, Cartoons and Anime 1 06-21-2006 02:20 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies