Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support

04-18-2006, 09:18 PM

Verified Member

Stats: 234 posts since Jun 2005
I am a photoshop rookie.
here is a shortened version of what i want to do

I have a red circle inside a blue circle with a white background behind all of this.
I want to make the white background and the red circle transparent so when i use this image as a button, the only thing you would see is the blue circle with a hole where the red circle was.
help please
  04-18-2006, 09:28 PM
Site Staff – Forum Moderator

Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Stats: 9,761 posts since May 2005
What you want is more of an authoring issues, not so much Photoshop. Sure, you can create that image in PS, but I doubt authoring would do it exactly as you state. Authoring menus has limitations, especially if you're not using Scenarist or DVDSP1 to author.

Best I can say is you want to make a white background with a blue circle in Photoshop, save as the background bitmap image. Then make a button as a PSD with a transparent background. When the button is not selected, it is red. When the button is selected, it turns to the same shade of blue as the background.

That's as close as I could get you.

Buttons cannot be transparent when selected.

04-19-2006, 01:05 AM

Verified Member

hmmmm
maybe I gave a bad example.
Say I have a Big Yellow smiley face with black eyes and black mouth.
I want to cut the eyes and mouth out of the picture so they are transparent.
This way when I use the smiley face as a button the eyes and mouth show the background color of the menu.

another example is I have a picture of a star with photoshop and the actual picture is only the star, the background is "hatched" grey I believe, showing in photoshop it is transparent. when I put the star as a button in a menu you only see the star, the background shows as whatever the color of the menu is.
  04-19-2006, 04:08 AM