#1  
  07-18-2007, 06:52 AM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
My TV keeps cutting off part of the videos either on the sides or on top. I think its an overscan or something with the video. but say something like the JETIX logo. all i will get is ETIX the J gets cut an parts of the bottom. Can someone tell me a good video size to get this from not happening or some type of bar i can put around the video?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
  07-18-2007, 09:18 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,755 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Overscan issues. Your video was cropped improperly, and was probably a downloaded file converted to DVD poorly. It has to be padded and re-encoded.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  07-18-2007, 10:04 AM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
actually i was testing a dvd set i got from someone else and changing it from pal to ntsc but i made the retarded mistake when i changed it. My tv cuts off a lot anyways and even normal tv cuts off a lot. i was just wondering if there was a way to make a dvd that doesnt cut off at all.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  07-18-2007, 10:37 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,755 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Yes, re-encode it with padding. But it'll show "edges" on other tv sets. That may not be good. I would not make a DVD specific to a tv. Some DVD players play PAL with a bad aspect too. This is one reason I like LSI chipset recorders (LiteOn, JVC) so much for playing PAL DVDs, as they respect the aspect ratio.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  02-02-2009, 03:17 AM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 651 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
I've had this same problem when trying to burn downloaded video, so that I don't have to watch it on my computer. How do I pad the video so that it will show up completely on the tv screen without any problems? I use Ulead DVD Workshop 2. If it matters, I also have Ulead VideoStudio 11, mpeg-vcr, SUPER, and DVD Decrypter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
  02-02-2009, 03:47 AM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
dont have these problems anymore
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  02-02-2009, 09:03 AM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 651 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
How did you fix the problem? That's what I want to know because I'm having that same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  02-02-2009, 10:21 AM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
got an hdtv lol. or i dunno what i did used tmpeg plus 2.5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  02-02-2009, 09:56 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,755 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
You need an encoder. MainConcept 1.5 is what I would use, or TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 as second choice (not as good as MC).

I have an HDTV too, and a Philips 3575 player (plays MPEG-4/Divx/Xvid). My mom has a Philips 5900-series player from Walmart, and it does quite nicely. It respects MPEG-4 aspect ratio, from what I understand. So go buy one of those, see how it does.


__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  06-12-2009, 04:05 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 651 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
I got a DVD in trade that didn't have a menu on it. I wanted to make a menu for it, so I ripped all the episodes from the disc using DVD Decrypter and converted them to MPEG-2 using mpeg-vcr. After creating a menu and loading it into Ulead DVD Workshop 2, I burned the project to a DVD-RW at high quality. I checked the disc and I noticed that the edges were cut off. It's most noticeable on the shows logo since part of one of the letters is off screen. I played it on an HDTV as well and the screen wasn't cut off. I tried burning the project at standard play but that didn't fix the problem. All that did was lower the video data rate. I checked the source DVD and it has the same problem.

I would like to fix this problem so that it can be played on a standard TV without a problem, just as well as it can play on an HDTV. I would rather not have to put padding on it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
  06-13-2009, 02:13 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,755 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
What does this mean?

Quote:
I burned the project to a DVD-RW at high quality
What is "high quality" coming from?

This was a bit mistake, the quality of a Womble encode is pure garbage:

Quote:
converted them to MPEG-2 using mpeg-vcr
Or maybe you meant you re-edited the clips to an MPEG from a VOB? If so, then you didn't actually convert anything. All it did was remove VOB extension. You can do this with a rename. Womble would have choked on complex VOB, where a rename is impossible (pro releases use complex VOBs, homemade uses simple VOBs most of the time and can be renamed).

Womble MPEG-VCR and MPEG Video Wizard are great editors -- never re-encode your clips in it, however!!!

An HDTV auto-crops to a lesser overscan. Some older TV's really overscan a lot, sometimes as much as 10% of the image. So you have likely observed this.

The only way to fix this is to re-encode it. Whatever disc you have was likely made by some idiot that took an XVID download that was cropped by yet another idiot, and made it into a DVD without any regard to the overscan required by television viewing areas.

This is why so many anime fans have "bad DVDs" from fansubbers, as the subbers did all the work on a computer, and have minimal to zero knowledge about the video/television broadcast process. You must always fix their mistakes, if you want to create DVDs from their butchered sources. You must un-butcher it by padding out the stream. It gets more complex if they hooked up a computer to a DVD recorder, and turned the signal interlaced, then you have a double problem, and it's never going to be as perfect as if it had been done correctly in the first place. All-around sad.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #12  
  06-13-2009, 04:31 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 651 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
I use Ulead DVD Workshop 2 to make my DVDs. There are several different quality options when burning to DVD. I would only consider using 3 of them.

High Quality (Approx. 60 min per DVD)
MPEG files
24 Bits, 720 x 480, 29.97 fps
(DVD-NTSC), 4:3
Video data rate: Variable (Max. 8000 kbps)
LPCM Audio, 48 KHz, Stereo

Good Quality (Approx. 90 min per DVD)
MPEG files
24 Bits, 720 x 480, 29.97 fps
(DVD-NTSC), 4:3
Video data rate: Variable (Max. 4000 kbps)
LPCM Audio, 48 KHz, Stereo

Standard Play (Approx. 120 min per DVD)
MPEG files
24 Bits, 720 x 480, 29.97 fps
(DVD-NTSC), 4:3
Video data rate: Variable (Max. 2500 kbps)
LPCM Audio, 48 KHz, Stereo

Now about converting them. I ripped the episodes from the source disc using DVD Decrypter in IFO mode. This puts the episodes on my computer as a VOB file. I then opened the VOB files using MPEG-VCR and save them as MPEG2 files.

Curtis recommended these programs. That's why I use them.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
  06-13-2009, 09:17 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 651 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
The standard TV that I checked the disc on is at least 13 years old. I tried the disc on a newer standard LCD TV and there wasn't an overscan issue. Apparently, the problem is with the TV, not the DVD.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
He-Man goes Bollywood! [VIDEO] lordsmurf Superheroes, Cartoons and Anime 0 07-03-2009 11:24 AM
Streaming video for CPS? cp32 Record TV: Video Tech Support 2 09-06-2006 12:57 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies