Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support


Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
  12-04-2007, 10:27 PM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Stats: 269 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Hi guys...long time no chat...hope everyone is doing well...

I'm hoping you can lend some expertise to the following problem.

I have digital cable and have tried to record some movies as of late and have found them to be copy-once protected with DTCP (Digital Transmission Copy Protection) I believe. I'm hoping to transfer them from my JVC DR-MH30 to DVD, but it won't let me.

To overcome this small obstacle, I've recorded from the JVC DR-MH30 to my computer using the HuffyUV CODEC and, of course, there are now several 2G segments that make up the entire movie.

My hope is to simply find a way to load up all the segments and seemlessly play them back through my ATI TV Out capability, which will allow me to record the output with my JVC DR-HM30 and transfer to DVD. I'm hoping you can help me understand how to do this.

If this is not the smartest way to do it, I have Procoder 2 and can encode with it, but I'm not very good with it yet. I've played around with it, but my results have been less than acceptable. HuffyUV preserved the quality exceptionally well and I'd hate to lose all that by re-encoding with Procoder if I don't need to.

Look forward to hearing back when you all have time.

All the best!
__________________
Cheers...Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  12-05-2007, 05:40 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,761 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 130 times in 115 posts
Procoder is professional quality. I have MainConcept 1.5 too, which is a bit easier to use and does look a bit better than PC2 does.

I'll send you some e-mails and write more info when I get more time (next week). If you don't hear back by next Wed., I forget. Don't hesitate to remind me. PM a link with this post at that time.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  12-05-2007, 09:17 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Stats: 269 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Many thanks, LS!

__________________
Cheers...Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  12-07-2007, 08:45 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,761 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 130 times in 115 posts
Here you go.
Use the VLC Media Player to watch it.
It's an XVID video guide, 4MB in size, about 2 minutes long.
I opened my AVS file used in the recently-added guide, but an AVI would ideally be the same situation.

http://www.tvpreservation.com/videos...r2settings.avi

Right-click and save to your computer, don't try to watch from the server, it won't work well and would slow up CPS.


__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  12-16-2007, 12:19 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Stats: 269 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
LS...many Thanks!

I set Procoder as instructed. Video looks real good. Seems, however, to be a bit more jumpy on pans than the original AVI captures. Are there some settings I can play with concerning that?

Again, many thanks!
__________________
Cheers...Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
  12-16-2007, 12:33 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,761 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 130 times in 115 posts
Jumping is almost always an issue with interlace, specifically the SOURCE and OUTPUT field orders not matching the source, and not being set the same in both places in Procoder. What is your source, what is the source settings being read as, and what did you set the output to?

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  12-16-2007, 06:02 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Stats: 269 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Source is Huffy avi, 640x480, interlaced, upper/top and target is the MPEG settings (352x480,interlaced, upper/top, VBR 2-pass, etc.) you showed me.

Thoughts?
__________________
Cheers...Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  12-16-2007, 06:11 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,761 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 130 times in 115 posts
The framerates all match, too?
Are you watching these on a tv set, when you say it's jerky?
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  12-16-2007, 07:26 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Stats: 269 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
Frame rates match too...I'm watching them on the computer...I'll try and burn one and watch it on the TV to see what happens. More to come...
__________________
Cheers...Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  12-16-2007, 07:41 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,761 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 130 times in 115 posts
Sometimes the computer's CPU just doesn't work as well as a hardware decoder (as found in a DVD player). It might be nothing more than that. Hope so, actually, because that's the easiest solution.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #11  
  12-22-2007, 07:46 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Stats: 269 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 0 times in 0 posts
That's for sure...still haven't burned it yet...still need to get some newly purchased software installed. By the by...did you see my post to you about Visionaries? Let me know if you're interested.
__________________
Cheers...Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encoding an XP (1 Hour Mode) MPEG to SP Mode shadowkaos Record TV: Video Tech Support 2 10-30-2007 08:29 AM
Hd supes clip, stuttering playback manthing Record TV: Video Tech Support 3 02-11-2006 11:19 PM
Encoding Question Tom_n_Jonna Record TV: Video Tech Support 1 10-29-2005 09:56 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies