Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support


Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
  02-11-2009, 02:14 PM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
I just made an order for a new Mac Book Pro Unibody 17in
# 2.93GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
# 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
1066MHz frontside bus
6MB shared L2 cache
# 320GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
# SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M and 9600M GT with 512MB of GDDR3 memory
Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard

Now i want to know what is good to use for a mac for DVD Authoring and basically this hobby of making dvd sets. Im so used to a PC i might be lost at first. also i heard you can run windows on a mac. anyone know anything about this?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
  02-11-2009, 02:40 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,754 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
DVD Studio Pro -- everything else is soccer-mom software, on Mac. iDVD isucks.
I have DVDSP.

Also have Final Cut Pro (FCP), an NLE (non-linear editor, like Premiere or Vegas)
Plus a few encoders, though you'd best off paying $20 for Quicktime Pro to encode MPEG-2

You could also attempt to learn Adobe Encore CS3 or CS4.
I have Adobe Master Collection CS3 for OS X.

Don't forget Parallels, to run Windows XP. Again, I have this. Use XP Pro SP3 "Essential Edition" in it.

With a Darwin version of Wine, you can also run DVD Shrink semi-native in OS X. It works.

I've been using Mac OS9 and OSX to do video too. I have a MacBook Pro at work, with most of this stuff installed.

The Superdrive blows. You'll likely want to buy an external USB2 Pioneer or Sony drive. If you don't believe me, just wait and see. Everybody I know has slowly, one by one, gotten fed up with that drive, and now use Sony DRX-830 or DRX-840 drives, maybe a Pioneer 112-115 series.

I still prefer my Windows XP laptops and desktops for video. mac is fun, it can do things, but it's just not where I can get the most, best and fastest quality work done.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  02-11-2009, 04:29 PM
konfusion's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Skate Boarder Champion
Location: GrandMa's House
Stats: 3,625 posts since Oct 2006
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 7 times in 7 posts
Send a message via ICQ to konfusion Send a message via AIM to konfusion Send a message via MSN to konfusion Send a message via Yahoo to konfusion
i just bought the design premium cs4.. is there anyway to install the stuff thats not on it in cs3 from the master collection? which would be

# Adobe Contribute CS3 for updating websites and blogs
# Adobe After Effects CS3 Professional for industry-standard motion graphics and visual effects
# Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 for capturing, editing, and delivering video
# Adobe Encore CS3 for preparing DVD titles
# Adobe Soundbooth CS3 for creating and editing audio quickly and intuitively


if so can i get that from you?

also is your final cut studio version 1 or 2? is it just final cut pro by itself or the final cut studio?

DVD Studio Pro can i get this?

what is xp pro essectial edition?
with leopard it says i can just install from from something called bootcamp.
http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html

do i still need Parallels?

i also already have a sony external i can just hook up to it. Its the DRX-840A you told me to bought. so i got that covered. thanks for letting me know

also what is Wine? not the drink lol but Darwin Wine

FCP is something i really need its what we use in school and would really help.


also do you know anything about Logic and ProTools or Digital Performer?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  02-11-2009, 11:36 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,754 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Don't use BootCamp. Trust me on this. Use Parallels. XP SP3 EE is a special hacked version of XP.
I have FCP4 and DVDSP 1.5 and DVDSP 3.
FC-Studio is just FCP+DVDSP+ some other crap I never use.

I've never needed Pro Tools.

In Windows, I can have both parts of CS2 and CS3 installed. In fact, I have 3 versions of Photoshop at work, 2 at home, installed concurrently.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone bought from this site jtmovies91 Buy TV: Shopping Deals and Tips 0 05-11-2011 12:08 PM
Bought a new tv need some help Tranzor Record TV: Video Tech Support 5 12-18-2007 12:31 PM
The best thing you ever bought? lordsmurf The Coffee Clutch: TV Talk and News 4 06-13-2006 01:31 AM
Programs begin to open but then close ninjagirl Record TV: Video Tech Support 10 05-22-2006 07:48 AM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies