Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Buy TV: Shopping Deals and Tips


Reply
Thread Tools
  #21  
  04-08-2007, 01:47 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Is everybody still happy with the JVC DVD recorders they have purchased from this place?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
  04-08-2007, 02:43 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
I know about 4-5 folks off CPS that bought these. One person got a dud unit that would not power on, but was able to return it and got a good one. Everybody else had a good one right away.

This is my favorite machine.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #23  
  04-08-2007, 04:15 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well, I do have a good JVC remote, MAy be I'll buy one and then send the other one in to get fixed. By the way, the $100.00 HD RCA recorder from Walmart sucked. It would only show black & white, not color. I do like my RCA 8300N VCR/DVD recorder. It does have a great tuner for recording VCR tapes off on to disc.

Is that cheap Liteon at Best Buy any good?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
  04-08-2007, 04:40 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
If you want a good machine, get
- the JVC without hard drive, or
- the Toshiba XS34/35 with hard drive.

Skip the LiteOn unless you're just on a real budget.

In addition to my 2 JVC units, I use the RCA that has a hard drive, but it has a crappy tuner. However, I only record off a digital cable box, so I never use its tuner. It has a Zoran chipset and a nice 3-hour mode. I've also got 2 LiteOn units that I no longer use for recording, just playback.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #25  
  04-09-2007, 02:57 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
After the Dud, I am now very happy with the good one that I received. But the fact that I had to pay for shipping to send it back, sucked big time. They should pay for shipping when they send out a defective unit.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
  04-09-2007, 04:10 AM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
That's weird, I just bought it for 86.93. There was no membership fee and I used used google to check out.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
  04-09-2007, 07:37 AM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I paid $65 for it. But was able to purchase some mini-dv tapes at a great price, so the membership was worth it
Reply With Quote
  #28  
  04-09-2007, 04:10 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I take that back shipped two day woth a one year warranty-$96.88. I hope it works, I called JVC today about my JVC DR-M10 and they said to send it in for repair. They said there was a problem and they will fix it for free if it is a defect otherwise they will call me. Do they usually fix it for free if it has the loading problem??
Reply With Quote
  #29  
  04-09-2007, 11:00 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
"Do they usually fix it for free if it has the loading problem??"

Yes.
But the DR-M100S does not have a loading problem. Only the DR-M10S does.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #30  
  04-10-2007, 01:37 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You guys aren't going to believe this. I ordered it Monday and got it today Tuesday. I was expecting it Wednesday (2 day).
Reply With Quote
  #31  
  04-10-2007, 04:13 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
LS, I have a DR-M10, that is why I bought this one I planned to send the old one in for repair. Guess what??????????? This new one is a dud! It won't read any disc I put in it, keeps saying it is unreadable or error. Geez JVC!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
  04-12-2007, 12:33 PM
JonathanEntertainment's Avatar
Knight of Toonplar
 
Location: Stark Tower
Stats: 1,516 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 15 times in 15 posts
yea I have trouble with mine and reading discs... like it will say reading reading then nothing. When I place a burnt disc it works every now and then.
__________________
The JE Collection: My DVD List | My Want List
Reply With Quote
  #33  
  04-12-2007, 01:55 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I talked with JVC today. They had me reset it, and it still wouldn't work. I believe they said it was a optical problem. So it going back as soon as I get a RMA #. Hopefully, I'll get a good one this time.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
  04-12-2007, 03:06 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
Probably a bad burner. It happens. That's a simple swap.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #35  
  04-14-2007, 08:01 AM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
LS, I'm about ready to fly to Tennessee to kick your A-- for making this thread. I've got two JVC recorders and neither one of them work! PLUS, I can't get these idiot at this place to give me a RMA number although they say I'm approved for one. You know if these idiot hadn't of packed it so bad when they shipped it the thing would probably work.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
  04-14-2007, 11:52 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
What precisely is not working on it? Maybe it really is working, but you're using the wrong disc, or something inside could easily be cleaned/repaired.

__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #37  
  04-14-2007, 02:18 PM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well the first has that problem that all M10s have, the second has an optical problem according to JVC. Of course, I do have to complain about how they shipped it. A little plastic around it and a couple of cups of foam peanuts. I bet it got the hell knocked out of it. Anway LS, I'm not listening to you any more. Oh, and my Pioneer burner sucks too! z(LOL)zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Reply With Quote
  #38  
  04-14-2007, 02:36 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
You've just got rotten luck.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #39  
  04-15-2007, 01:13 AM
MagnificentMarcus's Avatar
Member Removed / Locked / Why?
 
Location: Washington
Stats: 1,453 posts since Jun 2005
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
THanks LS, that makes me feel a lot better!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
  04-20-2007, 12:47 PM
 
Verified Member
 
Location: Planet Vegeta, Namibia
Stats: 969 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Keebler Elf......
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Today was my lucky day! lordsmurf The Coffee Clutch: TV Talk and News 5 09-18-2006 06:38 AM
Jvc dr-m100s dvd finalise Q manthing Record TV: Video Tech Support 5 04-29-2006 04:11 AM
JVC DR-M100S for $169 @ Fry's lordsmurf Buy TV: Shopping Deals and Tips 1 03-19-2006 05:05 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies