#1  
  06-02-2010, 08:31 AM
manthing's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Location: Aladdin's Cave, United Kingdom
Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 19 times in 18 posts
here is a snapshot of cpuz showing my memory settings / speeds :



as you can see, cpuz shows the DRAM speed as 400 MHz.

i installed DDR RAM running at 800 MHz.

so, does the 400 MHz shown in cpuz the correct value?
or should this have a value of 800 MHz?

the motherboard i'm using is Asus M3A78-EM.
the bus speed is 200 MHz.

the multiplier is 13.5.
and so my amd cpu is running at 2.7 GHz.

as far as i can tell, my cpu is running at the correct speed.

but the RAM...?

anyone here got any idea?
any software tool i can use to check the memory speed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  06-08-2010, 09:52 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,752 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Click on SPD.

Name:  ramspeed.jpg
Views: 42
Size:  51.4 KB

The Slot shows you each stick, one by one.
This laptop I'm using, for example, has two 1GB PC2700 DDR sticks.

To answer your question, it shows you have a 2:1 ratio of RAM to FSB, so I think it's all running correctly.
PM the CPS member "doramius", he's somebody I'd go to for this topic.


__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  06-08-2010, 01:21 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,752 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Since I wasn't 100% sure of my answer, I asked for some backup (redwudz@videohelp).
This was the reply I got:

Quote:
Yes, you are correct. His Bus speed is 201.2 and if his RAM is PC2-6400, the correct speed is ~400Mhz. If he goes to the SPD page of CPU-Z, it will show the speeds that it's rated for. The '800' refers to 800 Million transfers per second which is the bandwidth, not the speed the memory is running at. The PC2-6400 refers to the maximum data transfer rate. You can give him this link to Wikipedia that describes it better: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR2_SDRAM
This page relates to the PC-2700 DDR RAM you posted about: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DDR_SDRAM
Hope that helps.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  06-08-2010, 03:19 PM
manthing's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Location: Aladdin's Cave, United Kingdom
Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 19 times in 18 posts
ah gotcha.
that wiki page was very helpful.

i asked the question because i increased my ram size from 2 GB to 3 GB and it "felt" slower.

no i cannot qualify this with any hard facts, like benchmarks.
just a feeling.

anyway, all is well.
my pc is NOT misbehaving or running any application slower than previously.

so thank you and pass on my thanks to redwudz.

case closed
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blank DVD-R speed 2X rockettj1225 Record TV: Video Tech Support 3 05-17-2009 11:29 AM
DVD Audio/Video speed up mrwhitethc Record TV: Video Tech Support 3 06-16-2008 11:56 PM
Speed Racer trailer cp32 Superheroes, Cartoons and Anime 0 03-14-2008 03:18 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies