#1  
  05-31-2009, 06:48 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
I use a DVD duplicator to copy my DVDs for trades because it's faster than copying DVDs on my computer. Every once in a while, I get a disc that just won't copy for some reason. I've tried Nero, DVDFab 5, DVD Decrypter, and IsoPuzzle-17Beta but none of those programs will copy the disc. I usually get some kind of read error. Most of the original discs I have problems with play fine but they just won't copy. Can someone help me with this problem? I don't want any more wasted discs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  05-31-2009, 07:23 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
Re-copy those discs to Verbatim DVD-R in your computer -- your master is harder to read, and the drive demands it be read faster than is possible, and the duplication eventually gives up, coastering out the disc that was to be made.

From the sound of things, it might be your drives are weak or simply inferior. If it can play, but ISO Puzzle cannot extract at least 99% of the disc, then try a better drive. A Pioneer is what I suggest right now.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  05-31-2009, 08:01 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
That's what I've been trying to do. I only use Verbatim 16x DVD-R discs. My DVD duplicator is a Pioneer. I was hoping someone could suggest a better program for me to copy the problem discs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  05-31-2009, 08:35 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
ISO Puzzle is about as good as it gets. If that doesn't work, it's purely a hardware or disc issue. Different software won't do anything.

Test the disc. What happens when you run a Nero DiscSpeed test for transfer (TRT), or a sector scan? (The newest version of DiscSpeed appears to be OptiDrive at http://www.cdspeed2000.com). I'm attaching original DiscSpeed if you want to use that instead.

See also http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/show...ia-id-393.html

Here...


Attached Files
File Type: rar DiscSpeed.rar (1.01 MB, 36 views)
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  06-01-2009, 04:39 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
When I tried ripping the disc with DVD Decrypter, I got this error message.




I tried running a Nero DiscSpeed test and I get this error.




I ran a file test and a surface scan on one of the discs using Nero ScanDisc and this is the result.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
  06-01-2009, 05:07 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
Does this disc have a paper label on it, by chance?
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  06-01-2009, 05:20 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
No. It's labeled with a CD marker, like all of my TV show DVD-Rs.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  06-02-2009, 02:36 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
Any suggestions on what I can do? I have 2 people waiting on the set with the discs I'm having trouble copying.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  06-02-2009, 03:43 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,760 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 129 times in 114 posts
Your drive can't read the disc -- it's a drive issue. Replace it.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  06-02-2009, 07:22 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
I've tried it on both my drives and the same problem happens. This problem doesn't happen with all my discs. Just a select few. I'm convinced that it's not a drive issue. I believe it's a disc issue. I've heard of other people having this same problem with certain discs.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
  06-08-2009, 11:49 PM
bigk181's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Arcade Wins: Dodge Ball Champion
Location: Essexville, MI, USA
Stats: 656 posts since Jul 2008
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 6 times in 5 posts
I had the problem discs cleaned and buffed at a Family Video. I was worried that they might not do it since they are unofficial TV show DVD-Rs. Fortunately, they didn't care about that. Anyway, after the girl cleaned it, it didn't look much better than it was. She told me about a different Family Video that has a better machine and she didn't charge me. I took the discs to the other Family Video and the girl cleaned and buffed it a lot better. A couple discs had to be done twice but at least 2 of the 4 discs worked after that. I went back the next day with the 2 discs that still didn't work and had them run through the machine again. Now 3 out of the 4 discs work. The one disc is now a coaster (not literally). Only 1 episode on that disc will play. The set with the bad disc was taken off my list.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vbulletin Issue for the site! JonathanEntertainment The Coffee Clutch: TV Talk and News 3 02-14-2010 08:08 AM
Speed issue/question SavageAmusement Record TV: Video Tech Support 2 08-31-2006 07:06 PM
DVd creating issue SavageAmusement Record TV: Video Tech Support 10 05-03-2006 05:21 AM
Dvd+r Burning issue staypuftman2004 Record TV: Video Tech Support 3 07-23-2005 04:35 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies