Go Back   TVPast Forums > TV Collector Resources > Record TV: Video Tech Support


Reply
Thread Tools
  #1  
  08-05-2014, 11:14 AM
GreenRanger1's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Angel Grove
Stats: 569 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 4 times in 4 posts
Send a message via MSN to GreenRanger1
I want to make Wizards of Weaverly Place Season 4 on nice DVDs. Ive already designed the menus but i do not know how to do a widescreen DVD with my own menus. I have DVD Lab Pro 2 but I cant figure out how to use it. Can anyone help me with this?



Here is the menu I made i want to us like magic sparkles as the selector and the episode list out to the side.
__________________
Have List | Want List
Reply With Quote
  #2  
  08-05-2014, 11:30 AM
manthing's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Location: Aladdin's Cave, United Kingdom
Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 19 times in 18 posts
i should be able to help you out with DVDLP2. list your troubles and i'll go through them one by one.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
  08-05-2014, 11:42 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,752 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Although Ulead DVD Worshop 2 is my favorite, it can only do 4x3 menus. (Understand that DVDWS2 will do 16x9 video content just fine -- only the menu is 4x3 only.)

For 16x9 menus, you just need another program. I'd use TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5, DVD Studio Pro (Mac), or Adobe Encore CS3+ for this. DVD-Lab Pro 2 is another good choice, and is what manthing uses.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #4  
  08-05-2014, 11:56 AM
manthing's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Location: Aladdin's Cave, United Kingdom
Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 19 times in 18 posts


select project->project properties.
then change the menu/slideshow aspect from 4:3 to 16:9.

you now have a widescreen (and tv safe area) template.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
  08-05-2014, 12:08 PM
GreenRanger1's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Angel Grove
Stats: 569 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 4 times in 4 posts
Send a message via MSN to GreenRanger1
so if I redesign the menu for 4:3 I can do 16:9 video in DVDWS2?
__________________
Have List | Want List
Reply With Quote
  #6  
  08-05-2014, 12:10 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Arcade Wins: Asteroids Champion Minigolf Champion People on Fire Champion
Location: The Smurfs Village
Stats: 9,752 posts since May 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 128 times in 113 posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenRanger1 View Post
so if I redesign the menu for 4:3 I can do 16:9 video in DVDWS2?
Yes. I've done it for years.
__________________
The LS Collection:. My Cartoon and TV Show List | My Want List | My Future Projects
Reply With Quote
  #7  
  08-05-2014, 12:32 PM
GreenRanger1's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Angel Grove
Stats: 569 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 4 times in 4 posts
Send a message via MSN to GreenRanger1
Thanks guys Ill just do that since I know DVDWS2!
__________________
Have List | Want List
Reply With Quote
  #8  
  08-05-2014, 12:51 PM
manthing's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Location: Aladdin's Cave, United Kingdom
Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 19 times in 18 posts
if you ever want help with DLP2, give me a shout. it is easy-peasy to use. it is stable for me on win7 64 bit.

anyway, good luck with your project.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
  08-05-2014, 01:29 PM
GreenRanger1's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Angel Grove
Stats: 569 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 4 times in 4 posts
Send a message via MSN to GreenRanger1
Thanks guys I really appreciate the help.
__________________
Have List | Want List
Reply With Quote
  #10  
  08-05-2014, 04:00 PM
manthing's Avatar
Site Staff – Forum Moderator
 
Location: Aladdin's Cave, United Kingdom
Stats: 1,856 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Moderator
Thanks: 19 times in 18 posts
i'll throw in this bit: you can always add a widescreen menu afterwards!

you can do so by:

1) creating the widescreen menu picture. then use vobblanker to swap the 4:3 menu for the widescreen menu. you may also have to use pgcedit if your buttons (like play button) has changed between the 4:3 menu and the widescreen menu.

2) email someone your widescreen menu. they can author a "dummy" dvd and email you that. then, you use vobblanker to substitute your videos into the dummy dvd's video placeholders.

both methods are easy, quick, simple.

just letting you know, ok?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
  08-05-2014, 05:45 PM
GreenRanger1's Avatar
Verified Member
 
Location: Angel Grove
Stats: 569 posts since Jun 2005
Status: Verified Member
Thanks: 4 times in 4 posts
Send a message via MSN to GreenRanger1
thanks manthing!
__________________
Have List | Want List
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to Author 720p to DVD? manthing Record TV: Video Tech Support 2 08-29-2012 12:27 AM
TMPGEnc DVD Author gatch72 Record TV: Video Tech Support 0 10-05-2007 01:09 AM
How do I author a menu in DVD-Lab Pro ? lordsmurf Record TV: Video Tech Support 4 07-06-2007 08:56 PM
TPMGenc DVD Author 1.6 MagnificentMarcus Record TV: Video Tech Support 8 11-27-2006 11:03 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd

Contact Us   -   Top of Page   -   Site Home   -   Forum Home   -   Archive   -   Forum Policies